Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

M like Maori

par Daydreamer (Gaston)

Shortly after our arrival in New Zealand by Aurora. With other settlers, we were about to build Wellington. The Treaty of Waitangi was probably going to be signed, I took my chance without waiting for it to become official. I dreamed of travel and discovery for so long. During the construction of the first habitats we realized that the place was too marshy and prone to flooding, so we changed our plans and we headed to higher ground. I remember spending the happiest moments of my life, this was the symbol of a new beginning. Initially I did not have a lot of interest for the Treaty, it brought nothing bad in my opinion.

But I was very close to the the Maori. And a few years later, I saw the ravages of colonization, I saw our corruption invade their world, I saw human expelled from home, I saw the rancor, I saw the injustice, I saw the harm that British settlers have done to Maori, but the British didn't see, or didn't want to see. Today I lives neither in England, nor in new zealand, I live on earth away from the world but close to life. Good luck to find me.

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article