Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Animal Farm

par Daydreamer (Gaston)

Before diving into the reading of Animal Farm, I was reluctant because I had already read it in French a few years ago. Nevertheless, my interest for communism and its history helped me again and I really enjoyed reading this story in English this time, with much cooler names we must admit. Reading is fun with its many historical and symbolic references to communism, especially to the USSR, one of my favorites is the flag with horn and hoof, in reference to the hammer and sickle, popular symbol used by the Soviets. There is also "Beasts of England", the hymn of the animals in the book, a symbol of rebellion which refers to the Internationale, the Communist hymn until 1944 for the USSR. I really like that song it assists some of the most intense moments of the book, after the flight of Snowball and the death of the false traitors for example, it is as much relevant as a celebration that as a receuillement, it's a galvanizing song. Despite the fact that the book as a whole pleases me, I have to admit that the absence of some details bother me, firstly the huge simplification of some characters, it is true that the narrative takes some distance with the characters in the book. But I find it regrettable that there is no more depth for the character of Snowball, referring to Trotsky and for Moses, referring to the religion, "the opium of the people" according to Karl Marx. In speaking of Karl Marx, in my opinion the book ignores too much Marxism and the foundations of Communism, it is normal to simplified all that but I find it's too bad to introduce the book with the death of Old Major, referring to Lenin and Marx. This is why I consider that Animal Farm is clearly a book about the USSR, not on Communism and work of Karl Marx, which I consider too little known these days to the point that some people define Communism by Stalin and his policies. But it was cool as before, thank you Orwell.

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article